# DIVISION OF HEALTH PROFESSIONS DIVISION MEETING

April 5, 2005 - 12:30 p.m.

**PRESENT:** EMS: Bruce Farris, Romeo Opichka, Brent

Stafford

NUR: Nancy Cook, Linda Cowan, Gina Edwards, Carol

Heitkamper, Monica Holland, Rosemary Klepper, Connie Kuebeck, Susan Mann, Judy Martin, Judy Ogans, Beverly Schaeffer, Debbie Myers, Terri Walker

OTA: Tom Kraft, Fonda Scott

PTA: Peggy Newman, Vicky Davidson STAFF: Dr. Jo Ann Cobble, Shelly Tevis

LIBRARIAN: Linda Boatright

**ABSENT:** Mary Gundlach – held Division office open

Lloyd Kingsbury, Harvey Conner

#### I. Celebration!

Happy Birthday to Linda Boatright and Jo Ann Cobble. They both celebrate April 30th birthdays.

- II. FY '06 College Committee Assignments: If you have an interest in serving on a particular committee, let Jo Ann know. Reminder: If you are rotating off a committee, please notify Jo Ann.
- III. International Strategic Development Task Force: This is a newly developed committee that deals with global and international issues. If anyone is interested in joining this committee, notify Jo Ann.
- **IV. New Building Update:** Leadership Council and the Dean have recently met with the architect to provide input on the new and upcoming building. The latest developments/plans were distributed and discussed. Jo Ann invites any suggestions.
- V. OTA Faculty Search Committee: Interviewing for an OTA full-time position has been approved. The committee has been appointed and will hold the first meeting on Thursday April 7<sup>th</sup>, 2005.

#### **VI.** Committee Reports:

• Student Retention Committee: Peggy Newman is looking for interested people to serve on this committee. You must be able to meet on April 28<sup>th</sup> and 29<sup>th</sup>. They are working on a strategic plan to better train faculty when it comes to helping a student who may be considering leaving the college.

- **Faculty Development Committee Beverly Schaeffer:** The committee has been learning about a new online professional development website the college is subscribing to. Will have further info when the site is running and available.
- Academic Assessment Romeo Opichka: With ninety program assessments now being complete, the committee is considering a five year in depth report of assessments vs. the one year review.
- **Faculty Association Peggy Newman:** No one from the Division of Health Professions is currently represented at the round table discussions. Connie Kuebeck, Monica Holland, and Susan Mann volunteered. Next meeting is Monday April 18, 2005.

### The following have all been recently appointed to committees:

- Biology Search Committee Gina Edwards
- Science Search Committee Harvey Conner
- Presidents Award Search Committee Vicky Davidson

## VIII. As May Occur:

- Cené Gibson has accepted the new nursing faculty position. She will begin working April 11, 2005.
- There will be an upcoming search committee to fill Romeo Opichka's position as the Director of the Emergency Medical Sciences Program.
- Reminder: No tuition fee waivers will be awarded for summer.
- The Student Awards Ceremony will be held April 22, 2005 at 6:00. All faculty are invited to attend.
- Jo Ann thanked Monica, Romeo, Lloyd, EMS students and all who were involved in making the Celebration for Simulation a success.

Meeting adjourned at 1:35pm.

Next meeting will be May 3rd at 12:30p.m.